Peter E. Diedrichsen , M.D.

change font size

Dr. PeterDr. Diedrichsen is a General Ophthalmologist who specializes in cataract surgery, refractive surgery and glaucoma.

A native of Scribner, Nebraska, Dr. Diedrichsen received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and his medical degree from the University of Nebraska College of Medicine.

Dr. Diedrichsen completed his Ophthalmology residence at the university of Nebraska Medical Center.  He has practiced as a General Ophthalmologist in Columbus, Nebraska since 1982.

Dr. Diedrichsen’s refractive surgery experience extends over the past 20 years.  He performed the first approved laser refractive surgical procedure in Nebraska for myopia in January 1996.  He has performed refractive surgery in Lincoln, Grand Island and Norfolk prior to building the Columbus Surgery Center in 2006.  All refractive surgery is now performed at this state-of-the-art facility.  Co-management with the patients’ optometrist may be arranged at other locations across Nebraska for the convenience of the patient.  Currently, he is performing standard or custom laser, PRK (photo refractive keratectomy), LASIK (Laser in situ Keratomileusis) with IntraLase using the Visx Star4laser in Columbus, Nebraska.

In 2001 Dr. Diedrichsen did a fellowship for phakic intraocular surgery overseas.  Subsequently, Dr. Diedrichsen has been using both the Verisye and Visian phakic intraocular lenses for patients who are not candidates for LASIK.

Dr. Diedrichsen became certified to implant all the currently approved multifocal intraocular lens to allow patients to be spectacle free after cataract or clear lens removal and was one of the first Nebraska physicians to begin using multifocal lens implants and astigmatic keratectomies at the time of cataract surgery.   He also performs trabeculectomies, SLT Laser and iStent for his glaucoma patients.

Dr. Diedrichsen is a Board Certified Ophthalmologist, a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Nebraska Academy of Ophthalmology.  He served on the Board of Directors, Columbus Community Hospital for nine years and is past President of the Nebraska Academy of Ophthalmology.


Albion: (402) 395-2627
Columbus: (402) 563-3686
Norfolk: (402) 371-3158